Film review: Blue Jasmine


jasmine

Blue Jasmine is the latest film from prolific director, screenwriter and actor, Woody Allen. I don’t know how he does it, but Woody manages to release a new film almost every year. Blue Jasmine is the latest film he’s written and directed after 2012’s ‘To Rome With Love’.

I’ll admit I’ve hardly watched any of Woody’s filmography. I’ve seen Midnight in Paris – which I didn’t like, and Vicky Cristina Barcelona – which I did like. Add Blue Jasmine to that minute list and that’s it. So when Diane Keaton sang that fantastic ode to Woody Allen’s career at the Golden Globes alongside the showreel of his work, I didn’t know any of it. I’ve not even seen Annie Hall. Shameful.
So I haven’t seen enough to warrant an opinion on Woody’s style, I did really enjoy Blue Jasmine though. It’s a film about a very wealthy woman Jasmine (Cate Blanchett), who loses all her riches thanks to her cheating husband Hal (Alec Baldwin) and decides to move to LA to live with her adopted sister Ginger (Sally Hawkins).

You can tell from the get go that Jasmine doesn’t adapt to middle-class lifestyle very well. Her daily alcohol and narcotic cocktails aid her through everyday. She’s in a constant state of disbelief, making every attempt to numb her surroundings. Almost as if she wishes to pass out and wake up in another rich lifestyle.

trailer-italiano-blue-jasmine-15614

The film also belongs to Ginger and her relationships. Her current boyfriend Chili (Bobby Cannavale) and her ex-husband Augie (Andrew Dice Clay). Both whom of which Jasmine evidently disapproves of in some form. Sally Hawkins is great in this film, who incidentally has just received her first Academy Award nomination for this role.

The enjoyment of the film really comes from watching Jasmine trying to make herself a new life, her schizophrenic bouts. Coping…. or rather not coping with her current situation, and just the general quality of acting overall. Blanchett is outstanding.

It’s a film I could recommend to anyone, and there’s no swearing (that I can recall). I guess I could be looking forward to Woody Allen films from now on..

8/10

Blue Jasmine has been nominated for 3 Academy Awards (Best Actress, Best Supporting Actress and Best Screenplay), 3 BAFTAs, 2 Golden Globes, and a Screen Actors Guild award.

Leave a Reply

