Review: Fyfe Dangerfield – Fly Yellow Moon


Fyfe Dangerfield is best known as the founding member of indie rock band the Guillemots, he released his solo album early last year. I had heard ‘She’s Always a Woman’, a cover of the Billy Joel song quite a while ago, really liked it, took a chance and downloaded the album. Hadn’t actually listened to the album until the other week, I do that a lot, download an album and then forget to check it out for ages.

I’ve never actually listened to anything from the Guillemots, so unfortunately I can’t compare this to any other their stuff at this time. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever listened to anything quite like this. Fly Yellow Moon is an alternative/indie/folk album, and it has a sort of 1970’s soul feel to it. There are songs about love, life and I’m guessing dreams. The album is very well written, but the are a couple of songs like ‘Firebird’ and ‘Faster Than The Setting Sun’ that lyrically seem to be subjective and quite surreal and I’m not sure I really understand them to be honest. Hmm…

Fly Yellow Moon has a great mix of upbeat tunes and ballads and every song is immediate and likeable. There’s also a nice balance of produced songs and acoustic tracks.

My favoured tracks: ‘When You Walk In The Room’, ‘So Brand New’, ‘She Needs Me’, ‘She’s Always A Woman’, ‘Awake, Asleep’.

8.5/10

2 thoughts on “Review: Fyfe Dangerfield – Fly Yellow Moon

Leave a Reply

